The Worshipful Lucia & Trouble for Lucia

The Mapp & Lucia Novels
Author(s): E.F. Benson
Series: Mapp and Lucia
Original Publish Date: Nov 10, 2015
Product Number: EB00600271
Released: Nov 10, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781101912157
Publisher: Vintage
Please log in to view pricing


E. F. Benson's beloved Mapp and Lucia novels are sparkling, classic comedies of manners set against the petty snobberies and competitive maneuverings of English village society in the 1920s and 1930s. The Worshipful Lucia (1935; published in the UK as Lucia's Progress) and Trouble for Lucia (1939) are the last two novels in Benson's series. They chronicle the ongoing battles of his famous characters-Mrs. Lucia Lucas and Miss Elizabeth Mapp-in the idyllic seaside village of Tilling, which proves too small to contain both of them. While both are hypocritical snobs, Lucia is animated by marvelous delusions of grandeur and Mapp by insatiable curiosity and chronic rage; their epic collisions rock their small society and provide the narrative engines for Benson's gloriously farcical masterpieces.

Sign up for our email newsletter