The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island

Author(s): Dana Alison Levy
Series: Family Fletcher
Original Publish Date: May 10, 2016
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.42 hours)
Product Number: Z100101776
Released: May 10, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781101916445
Narrator/s: Dan Woren
Publisher: Listening Library
Please log in to view pricing


Love the TV show Modern Family? Wait until you meet the family Fletcher! With two dads, four adopted brothers, two cats, and one pug, the Fletchers will have you laughing out loud! Welcome to Rock Island, Where Time Stands Still! The Fletchers are back on Rock Island, home of all their best summer memories. But from the first day they arrive, it's clear that this year, things have changed. FIRST, a giant fence is blocking their beloved lighthouse. SECOND, they have new neighbors. THIRD, who the heck is the weird artist guy who's never actually painting? And FOURTH, there's now an ice cream truck! Can the island stay the same even with these crazy transformations? Over the course of the summer, the Fletchers will learn that sometimes, even in a place where time stands still, the wildest, weirdest, and most wonderful surprises await. A JLG Selection! "There is constant action and delightful humor, but there are also realistic present-day problems and happy solutions. An old-fashioned summer adventure set in a very modern world, this lively family tale will leave readers impatient for more. "--Kirkus, Starred "While the other story lines reach satisfying resolutions, this one— about a young African American male struggling to figure out his identity in the largely white landscape of Rock Island—leaves room for thought-provoking, timely discussion.--Horn Book "A must-have middle grade family story with contemporary sensibilities."--SLJ, Starred "Lots of kids will want to take this along on their summer vacations."--Booklist

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

Author(s): Dana Alison Levy
Product Number EB00621111
Released: May 10, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780553521320

Professional reviews

"There's a classic old-fashioned feeling in Dan Woren's second narration of the Fletcher Family series. His calm tone contrasts with the energetic roles he embraces while portraying the lively personalities of the four adopted Fletcher brothers. The boys are diverse in color, personality, and problems as they summer at the family cottage on Rock Island. Woren replicates Frog's funny over-the-top reactions; fearful Eli's sensitivity, especially as a victim of racism; Sam's enthusiasm for community theater; and Jax's friendship with new Latino neighbors. Woren maintains consistent characterizations throughout the boys' individual adventures and as well as their shared plan to save the lighthouse they love. Humor, warmth, and enthusiasm abound in Woren's performance, as they do in the family. S.W. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter