She's Not There

Product Number: EB00614217
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781101966884
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present...?he New York Times bestselling author of Someone Is Watching weaves these spellbinding elements into a gripping novel of psychological suspense-a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark. "I think my real name is Samantha. I think I'm your daughter." Caroline Shipley's heart nearly stops when she hears those words from the voice on the other end of the phone. Instantly, she's thrust fifteen years into the past, to a posh resort in Baja, Mexico-and the fateful night her world collapsed. The trip is supposed to be a celebration. Caroline's husband, Hunter, convinces her to leave their two young daughters, Michelle and Samantha, alone in their hotel suite while the couple enjoys an anniversary dinner in the restaurant downstairs. But returning afterward, Caroline and Hunter make a horrifying discovery: Two-year-old Samantha has vanished without a trace. What follows are days, weeks, and years of anguish for Caroline. She's tormented by media attention that has branded her a cold, incompetent mother, while she struggles to save her marriage. Caroline also has to deal with the demands of her needy elder daughter, Michelle, who is driven to cope in dangerous ways. Through it all, Caroline desperately clings to the hope that Samantha will someday be found-only to be stung again and again by cruel reality. Plunged back into the still-raw heartbreak of her daughter's disappearance, and the suspicions and inconsistencies surrounding a case long gone cold, Caroline doesn't know whom or what to believe. The only thing she can be sure of is that someone is fiercely determined to hide the truth of what happened to Samantha. Praise for Joy Fielding's Someone Is Watching "Someone Is Watching gripped me from the first to the very last page. Bailey Carpenter is a heroine who's both victim and warrior woman, a fascinating sleuth who will linger with you long after you've finished this thrilling read."-Tess Gerritsen "Fielding pens a spiraling tale of paranoia and suspense, as sultry as a Miami night."-Jenny Milchman "An edge-of-your-seat read...?ith Fielding's patented blend of complex characters and escalating suspense, she is in top form here."-Karen Robards "Engrossing...?he characters pulsate with life."-Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller...?ielding's story of one woman's search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting."-Booklist (starred review) From the Hardcover edition.

x-large
Author(s): Joy Fielding
Original Publish Date: Feb 23, 2016

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Joy Fielding
Narrator(s): Tanya Eby
Product Number BN11556
Released: Feb 07, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781511322911
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Joy Fielding
Product Number EB00683985
Released: Aug 28, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
ISBN: #9780385677431

Sign up for our email newsletter