Then Everything Changed

Stunning Alternate Histories of American Politics: JFK, RFK, Carter, Ford, Reagan
Author(s): Jeff Greenfield
Original Publish Date: Mar 08, 2011
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (17.77 hours)
Product Number: Z100090645
Released: Feb 28, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781101977606
Narrator/s: Michael Kramer
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing


A brilliant and brilliantly entertaining tour de force of American politics from one of journalism's most acclaimed commentators.History turns on a dime. A missed meeting, a different choice of words, and the outcome changes dramatically. Nowhere is this truer than in the field where Jeff Greenfield has spent most of his working life, American politics, and in three dramatic narratives based on memoirs, histories, oral histories, fresh reporting with journalists and key participants, and Greenfield's own knowledge of the principal players, he shows just how extraordinary those changes would have been.These things are true: In December 1960, a suicide bomber paused fatefully when he saw the young president-elect's wife and daughter come to the door to wave goodbye...In June 1968, RFK declared victory in California, and then instead of talking to people in another ballroom, as intended, was hustled off through the kitchen...In October 1976, President Gerald Ford made a critical gaffe in a debate against Jimmy Carter, turning the tide in an election that had been rapidly narrowing.But what if it had gone the other way? The scenarios that Greenfield depicts are startlingly realistic, rich in detail, shocking in their projections, but always deeply, remarkably plausible. You will never think about recent American history in the same way again.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Jeff Greenfield
Narrator(s): Michael Kramer
Product Number C00664
Released: May 07, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781464031823
Author(s): Jeff Greenfield
Product Number EB00382197
Released: Jun 05, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Berkley
ISBN: #9781101486429

Professional reviews

"Greenfield presents three alternate history scenarios spanning two decades, beginning in 1960 when Lyndon Johnson becomes president after the assassination of John F. Kennedy before his inauguration, followed by Robert Kennedy's narrow escape from an attempt on his own life in 1968. Michael Kramer comfortably handles the diverse accents and speech rhythms, but his pacing is too slow and detracts from the audio experience. The majority of the story follows RFK's election campaign, and the last part begins when Gerald Ford barely wins the 1976 election over Jimmy Carter and ends with Gary Hart's win over Reagan in 1980. Greenfield bases this account on memoirs, histories, fresh reporting with journalists and key participants, and his own knowledge of the principal players. Political gurus will love this listen. B.C.E. (c) AudioFile 2011, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter