Riverkeep

Product Number: EB00627505
Released: Jul 26, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781101998304
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman! The Danek is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations-clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing corpses from its bleak depths. Wulliam's father, the current Riverkeep, is proud of this work. Wull dreads it. And in one week, when he comes of age, he will have to take over. Then the unthinkable happens. While recovering a drowned man, Wull's father is pulled under-and when he emerges, he is no longer himself. A dark spirit possesses him, devouring him from the inside. In an instant, Wull is Riverkeep. And he must care for his father, too. When he hears that a cure for his father lurks in the belly of a great sea-dwelling beast known as the mormorach, he embarks on an epic journey down the river that his family has so long protected-but never explored. Along the way, he faces death in any number of ways, meets people and creatures touched by magic and madness and alchemy, and finds courage he never knew he possessed. Martin Stewart's debut novel is an astonishing blend of the literary, the comedic, and the emotionally resonant. In a sentence, it's The Wizard of Oz as told by Patrick Ness. It marks the beginning of a remarkable career. From the Hardcover edition.

x-large
Author(s): Martin Stewart
Original Publish Date: Jul 26, 2016

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Martin Stewart
Narrator(s): James Cosmo
Product Number Z100113696
Released: Jul 26, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780451486035

Sign up for our email newsletter