A Death in the Dales

Product Number: EB00681795
Released: Feb 14, 2017
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781250098849
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Please log in to view pricing

Description

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton make A Death in the Dales an absorbing 7th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. A murder most foul When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe... A village of secrets But it just so happens that Freda's nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair. The case of a lifetime As the present mysteries merge with the past's mistakes, Kate is thrust into the secrets that Freda left behind and realizes that this courageous woman has entrusted her with solving a murder from beyond the grave. It soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn't the holiday Kate was expecting... Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton returns in A Death in the Dales with another mystery that's sure to "hold the reader attention and make them continue reading into the small hours of the night" (York Press, UK).

x-large
Author(s): Frances Brody
Series: Kate Shackleton Mysteries Series No: 7
Original Publish Date: Feb 14, 2017

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Frances Brody
Narrator(s): Elaine Claxton
Series:
Genre: Mystery
Product Number DD30813
Released: Feb 14, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781520071084
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Frances Brody
Narrator(s): Elaine Claxton
Series:
Genre: Mystery
Product Number Z100107092
Released: Feb 28, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781520071107

Sign up for our email newsletter