The Rise of Five Dictators and the Fall of Democracy
Product Number: EB00782611
Released: Dec 01, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781250205650
Please log in to view pricing


From the bestselling author of the Don't Know Much About books comes a dramatic account of the origins of democracy, the history of authoritarianism, and the reigns of five of history's deadliest dictators. What makes a country fall to a dictator? How do authoritarian leaders—strongmen—capable of killing millions acquire their power? How are they able to defeat the ideal of democracy? And what can we do to make sure it doesn't happen again? By profiling five of the most notoriously ruthless dictators in history—Adolf Hitler, Benito Mussolini, Joseph Stalin, Mao Zedong, and Saddam Hussein—Kenneth C. Davis seeks to answer these questions, examining the forces in these strongmen's personal lives and historical periods that shaped the leaders they'd become. Meticulously researched and complete with photographs, Strongman provides insight into the lives of five leaders who callously transformed the world and serves as an invaluable resource in an era when democracy itself seems in peril. "Strongman is a book that is both deeply researched and deeply felt, both an alarming warning and a galvanizing call to action, both daunting and necessary to read and discuss."—Cynthia Levinson, author of Fault Lines in the Constitution

All formats/editions

Author(s): Kenneth C. Davis
Product Number Z100159983
Released: Oct 06, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Listening Library
ISBN: #9780593150795

Sign up for our email newsletter