The Sol Majestic

A novel
x-large
Author(s): Ferrett Steinmetz
Original Publish Date: Jun 11, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (13.08 hours)
Product Number: Z100144047
Released: Jun 11, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781250227898
Narrator/s: James Fouhey
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Narrator James Fouhey serves up a delicious feast of a performance in this unusual combination of science fiction, philosophy, and food."—AudioFile Magazine The Sol Majestic is a big-hearted and delightful intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place. "A feast of a book."—Hugo Award-winning author Seanan McGuire Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents' ambition to advise the celestial elite. Everything changes when Kenna wins a free dinner at The Sol Majestic, the galaxy's most renowned restaurant, giving him access to the cosmos's one-percent. His dream is jeopardized, however, when he learns his highly-publicized "free meal" risks putting The Sol Majestic into financial ruin. Kenna and a motley gang of newfound friends—including a teleporting celebrity chef, a trust-fund adrenaline junkie, an inept apprentice, and a brilliant mistress of disguise—must concoct an extravagant scheme to save everything they cherish. In doing so, Kenna may sacrifice his ideals—or learn even greater lessons about wisdom, friendship, and love. Utterly charming and out of this world, Ferrett Steinmetz's The Sol Majestic will satisfy the appetites of sci-fi aficionados and newcomers alike.

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Ferrett Steinmetz
Product Number EB00782568
Released: Nov 06, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781250168184

Professional reviews

"Narrator James Fouhey serves up a delicious feast of a performance in this unusual combination of science fiction, philosophy, and food. When teenaged Kenna stumbles onto the opportunity for a meal at the greatest restaurant in the universe, he doesn't know that it will upend his entire existence. Fouhey gives his all to the melodramatic action of a high-stress space kitchen. He enthusiastically embodies flamboyant chef Paulius, spidery manager Scrimshaw, and a whole rogue's gallery of kitchen outcasts. Fouhey perfectly pitches young Kenna as somber and reserved--in contrast to the raucous found family whose members slowly bring him out of his shell as he discovers his personal philosophy and learns to craft the perfect meal. N.M. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter