The Furies

x-large
Author(s): Katie Lowe
Original Publish Date: Oct 08, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.72 hours)
Product Number: Z100147109
Released: Oct 08, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781250242884
Narrator/s: Olivia Dowd
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This harrowing debut is the story of a girl trying to fit in, whose obsessive new friends and desperation to belong leads her to places she'd never imagined…dark, dangerous, and possibly even violent. “The Furies is a haunting tale of angry, young women, the fates they hold and furies they possess. Katie Lowe steers her juggernaut through twists of madness, revenge and murder to a finish that resonates deeply. It still hasn't left me.” —Peter Filardi, screenwriter of The Craft In 1998, a sixteen-year-old girl is found dead. She's posed on a swing on her boarding school's property, dressed all in white, with no known cause of death. Whispers and rumors swirl, with no answers. But there are a few who know what happened; there is one girl who will never forget. One year earlier: a new student, Violet, steps on the campus of Elm Hollow Academy, an all-girl's boarding school on the outskirts of a sleepy coastal town. This is her fresh start, her chance to begin again in the wake of tragedy, leave her demons behind. Bright but a little strange, uncertain and desperate to fit in, she soon finds herself invited to an advanced study group, led by her alluring and mysterious art teacher, Annabel. There, with three other girls—Alex, Grace, and Robin—the five of them delve into the school's long-buried grim history: of Greek and Celtic legends; of the school founder's “academic” interest in the occult; of gruesome 17th century witch trials. Annabel does her best to convince the girls that her classes aren't related to ancient rites and rituals, and that they are just history and mythology. But the more she tries to warn the girls off the topic, the more they are drawn to it, and the possibility that they can harness magic for themselves. Violet quickly finds herself wrapped up in this heady new world of lawless power—except she is needled by the disappearance of a former member of the group, one with whom Violet shares an uncanny resemblance. As her friends' actions take a turn for the darker and spiral out of control, she begins to wonder who she can trust, all the while becoming more deeply entangled. How far will these young girls go to protect one another…or to destroy one another? "Fans of Greer Macallister, Paula Hawkins, and Janelle Brown will devour Violet's journey.” —Booklist

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Furies
Product Number: BX00134350
Product Number:Z100147109
Product Number:DD47203

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Katie Lowe
Narrator(s): Olivia Dowd
Product Number DD47203
Released: Nov 19, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
ISBN: #9781250242891
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Katie Lowe
Product Number EB00756058
Released: Oct 08, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781250297914

Sign up for our email newsletter