The Girl Who Reads on the Metro

A Novel
x-large
Original Publish Date: Oct 08, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.78 hours)
Product Number: Z100153890
Released: Oct 08, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781250243003
Narrator/s: Stephanie Racine
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Narrator Stephanie Racine instills an enthusiastic tone of wonder at the transformative quality of books in this tale with a beautiful dreamlike quality."— AudioFile Magazine For fans of AmElie and The Little Paris Bookshop, a modern fairytale about a French woman whose life is turned upside down when she meets a reclusive bookseller and his young daughter. Juliette leads a perfectly ordinary life in Paris, working a slow office job, dating a string of not-quite-right men, and fighting off melancholy. The only bright spots in her day are her mEtro rides across the city and the stories she dreams up about the strangers reading books across from her: the old lady, the math student, the amateur ornithologist, the woman in love, the girl who always tears up at page 247. One morning, avoiding the office for as long as she can, Juliette finds herself on a new block, in front of a rusty gate wedged open with a book. Unable to resist, Juliette walks through, into the bizarre and enchanting lives of Soliman and his young daughter, Zaide. Before she realizes entirely what is happening, Juliette agrees to become a passeur, Soliman's name for the booksellers he hires to take stacks of used books out of his store and into the world, using their imagination and intuition to match books with readers. Suddenly, Juliette's daydreaming becomes her reality, and when Soliman asks her to move in to their store to take care of Zaide while he goes away, she has to decide if she is ready to throw herself headfirst into this new life. Big-hearted, funny, and gloriously zany, The Girl Who Reads on the MEtro is a delayed coming-of-age story about a young woman who dares to change her life, and a celebration of the power of books to unite us all. "With a cast of characters reminiscent of the French film AmElie, FEret-Fleury creates a world that is delightful and enchanting...Light and sweet as a bonbon, this little confection of a book is delicious."—Kirkus Reviews

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00746771
Released: Oct 08, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Flatiron Books
ISBN: #9781250315434

Professional reviews

"Narrator Stephanie Racine instills an enthusiastic tone of wonder at the transformative quality of books in this tale with a beautiful dreamlike quality. Juliette loves creating stories about the strangers who read on the Paris metro. A deviation from her normal route leads her to a bookstore, and to owner Soliman and his precocious daughter. Juliette falls into the role of a passeur, Soliman's name for the booksellers he hires to match books to new owners. Julia's melancholy is initially replaced by tears and wails of frustration at the enormity of the task. At first, Racine gives her a timid, questioning lilt, but soon Juliette finds comfort in her charming clients and their jovial, knowing voices. A.L.C. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter