salt slow

eAudio - unabridged
Audio
Product Number: Z100149872
Released: Oct 08, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781250243041
Narrator/s: Kristin Atherton
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women's experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers' sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan's shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates'. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected. Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice.

x-large
Author(s): Julia Armfield
Original Publish Date: Oct 08, 2019

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Julia Armfield
Product Number EB00746760
Released: Oct 08, 2019
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: Flatiron Books
ISBN: #9781250224767

Sign up for our email newsletter