We Came Here to Shine

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio
Product Number: Z100157178
Released: Jun 16, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781250769756
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Set during the iconic 1939 New York World's Fair, two intrepid young women – an aspiring journalist and a down-on-her-luck actress- form an unlikely friendship as they navigate a world of endless possibility, stand down adversity, and find what they are truly made of during the glorious summer of spectacle and opportunity… “An ode to female friendship that pulses with momentum and left me breathless.” --Fiona Davis, national bestselling author of The Chelsea Girls. “A remarkable novel about the challenges women face and the courage they must summon in order to lead the lives they deserve." - Lynda Loigman, author of The Two-Family House Vivi Holden is closer than she's ever been to living her dream as a star actress in sun-dappled L.A, but an unfair turn of events sets her all the way back to New York. Back to where she worked so hard to escape from. She has one last chance to get back to Hollywood – by performing well as the lead in the heralded Aquacade's swimming and dancing production at the World's Fair. The universe seems to be working against her, but her summer in New York will lead to her biggest opportunity to find her own way, on her own terms… Maxine Roth wants nothing more than to be a star journalist at the iconic New York Times, but the universe has other plans. Instead, she's landed a post at the pop-up publication dedicated to covering the World's Fair—and even then, her big ideas are continually overlooked by her male counterparts. Max didn't work this hard to be the only, unheard woman in the room. When Max and Vivi's worlds collide, they forge an enduring friendship. One that shows them to be the daring, bold women they are, and one that shows them to never stop holding on to what matters most, in the summer that leads to tomorrow. PRAISE FOR THE SUBWAY GIRLS “Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." —Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones and The Six “Feminist at heart …Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Camille Di Maio will adore this book.” —Jennifer S. Brown, bestselling author of Modern Girls “Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives." —Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

x-large
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Original Publish Date: Jun 16, 2020

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Product Number EB00791026
Released: Aug 11, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781250169792

Sign up for our email newsletter