The Mandela Plot

x-large
Author(s): Kenneth Bonert
Original Publish Date: May 22, 2018
Product Number: EB00707273
Released: May 22, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781328886156
Publisher: Mariner Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A Finalist for the National Jewish Book Award—Fiction For fans of The Kite Runner and A Brief History of Seven Killings, a page-turning literary and political thriller set in apartheid Johannesburg As the 1980s draw to a close, South Africa is a maelstrom of political violence, the apartheid regime in its death throes. Young Martin Helger is a misfit at an elite private boys' school in Johannesburg, with a father who is a scrap dealer and a brother who is a mysterious legend. When a beautiful and manipulative American activist arrives at the family home, Martin soon finds himself wrenched out of his isolated bubble and thrust into the heart of the struggle. At the same time, secrets from the past begin to emerge, tearing at the Helgers, a second-generation Jewish family, even as the larger forces of history and politics tear apart the country.The Mandela Plot is at once a high-stakes literary thriller and a moving coming-of-age tale that charts the journey of a young man trying to find his place in a country that has lost its way.

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Kenneth Bonert
Narrator(s): Dennis Kleinman
Product Number DD37544
Released: Aug 07, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781684412143
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Kenneth Bonert
Narrator(s): Dennis Kleinman
Product Number Z100132382
Released: Aug 07, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781684412150