Night Flights

A Mortal Engines Collection
Author(s): Philip Reeve
Series: Mortal Engines
Original Publish Date: Aug 28, 2018
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (2.85 hours)
Product Number: Z100142817
Released: Aug 28, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781338316155
Narrator/s: Barnaby Edwards
Please log in to view pricing


Go deeper into the world of Mortal Engines with these brand-new short stories, just in time for the release of the epic film directed by Peter Jackson! Return to the world of Mortal Engines in this new book of short stories about the rebellious young aviatrix, Anna Fang. In a dangerous future world where gigantic, motorised cities attack and devour each other, London hunts where no other predator dares. But Anna Fang -- pilot, adventurer, spy -- isn't afraid. The three stories show gripping, moving, exciting moments in Anna Fang's life: her childhood as a slave aboard the moving city Arkangel, a showdown against a robotic Stalker that is terrifyingly out of control, and her free life as an intelligence agent for the Anti-Traction league.

Professional reviews

"Barnaby Edwards gives an exhilarating narration of three stories set before the events of Reeve's MORTAL ENGINES. In a future world where cities and towns are mobile, giant predator cities like London roam across the landscape, hunting and consuming smaller ones. In these stories, we learn about the origins of mysterious aviatrix Anna Fang. As Anna travels, Edwards gives the people she encounters a variety of accents, and listeners get to hear subtle but important points, like the difference between how Anna pronounces her family name and the way that strangers pronounce it--and why she decides she might adopt their pronunciation. Listeners will be swept up in Anna's exciting and dangerous adventures, and those eager for more will be glad to know that Edwards narrates Reeve's whole series. J.M.D. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"