Replay

CD - unabridged
Audio (9 discs)
Product Number: DD19942
Released: Nov 24, 2008
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781400110100
Narrator/s: William Dufris
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney's Time and Again, Ken Grimwood's acclaimed novel Replay asks the provocative question: "What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you'd made before?" Forty-three-year-old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and a dead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It's all the same...but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series...every Kentucky Derby...even how to win on Wall Street. The one thing he doesn't know is: Why has he been chosen to replay his life? And how many times must he win-and lose-everything he loves? Winner of the 1988 World Fantasy Award for best novel and published in eleven languages, Replay unravels the answers in a masterful skein that captivates our imagination.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Ken Grimwood
Narrator(s): William Dufris
Product Number Z10004904
Released: Nov 24, 2008
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781400190102

Professional reviews

"In Grimwood's 1988 novel, a struggling radio journalist, Jeff Winston, receives the opportunity of a lifetime, or two perhaps, when he's reborn after his death as a bright-eyed but very experienced 18-year-old. Narrator William Dufris's skilled delivery of the fantasy of reliving one's life has just the right tone of wise hindsight. Dufris astutely conveys Winston's complex emotions as he comes to realize that knowledge of the future is at once a blessing and a curse. With a layered tone, Dufris molds a character who understands what he must do to correct his past mistakes, but who seems doomed to fail no matter what action he takes. Through it all, Dufris injects a subtle questioning into Winston's voice as he ponders--"Why me?" L.B. (c) AudioFile 2009, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter