The Millionaires' Unit

The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (13.52 hours)
Product Number: Z10004390
Released: Jun 19, 2006
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781400122509
Narrator/s: Patrick Lawlor
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

x-large
Author(s): Marc Wortman
Genre: History
Original Publish Date: Jun 19, 2006

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Marc Wortman
Narrator(s): Patrick Lawlor
Genre: History
Product Number DD20499
Released: Jun 19, 2006
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781400102501

Professional reviews

"A sense of duty and a romantic fascination with war propelled six members of the Yale Flying Club as they headed to France to become Allied flying aces in WWI. Marc Wortman's account of their heroism begins in New Haven. This gives narrator Patrick Lawlor the chance to tell rollicking stories about the collegiate careers of the war heroes before following them to France, where their story turns into a wartime adventure. In both venues, Lawlor brings their experiences alive, taking listeners into the social whirl of Yale's clubs and secret societies, and bringing them along for the ride in chilly, oxygen-poor cockpits, creating high drama from this real-life account of aerial warfare. J.A.S. (c) AudioFile 2007, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter