The Taste of Conquest

The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.58 hours)
Product Number: Z100091021
Released: Mar 09, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781400125456
Narrator/s: Todd McLaren
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities-Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam-that transformed the globe in the quest for spice. Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise-and fall-of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam. Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

x-large
Author(s): Michael Krondl
Genre: Cooking, History
Original Publish Date: Nov 13, 2007

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription - Tantor titles

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Michael Krondl
Narrator(s): Todd McLaren
Genre: Cooking, History
Product Number DD19514
Released: Nov 13, 2007
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781400105458
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Michael Krondl
Genre: History, Cooking
Product Number EB00151457
Released: Dec 27, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: #9780345509826

Professional reviews

"The origins of globalization can be traced to the spice trade, which spanned centuries, empires, religions, and continents. Remember how Christopher Columbus disappointed his patrons because the Americas didn't have cinnamon, cloves, or nutmeg? Todd McLaren reads with a persuasive impersonation as he vicariously becomes the author, writing in the first person and traveling the world to discover flavors. McLaren's announcer-quality voice shows no haste, as if he's savoring the meals enjoyed in so many countries. He speaks every English word with precision, but his minor downfall comes with the numerous foreign words, which he pronounces with a 100% American accent. History aficionados will enjoy discovering the relationship of so many well-known events to the importance of well-seasoned food. J.A.H. (c) AudioFile 2008, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter