A Cry from the Dust

Product Number: EB00457411
Released: Aug 19, 2014
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9781401690441
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Parks, in her debut novel, has clearly done her research and never disappoints when it comes to crisp dialogue, characterization, or surprising twists and turns." -Publishers Weekly A 19th-century conspiracy is about to be shattered by a 21st-century forensic artist. In 1857, a wagon train in Utah was assaulted by a group of militant Mormons calling themselves the Avenging Angels. One hundred and forty people were murdered, including unarmed men, women, and children. The Mountain Meadows Massacre remains controversial to this day-but the truth may be written on the skulls of the victims. When renowned forensic artist Gwen Marcey is recruited to reconstruct the faces of recently unearthed victims at Mountain Meadows, she isn't expecting more than an interesting gig...?nd a break from her own hectic life. But when Gwen stumbles on the ritualized murder of a young college student, her work on the massacre takes on a terrifying new aspect, and research quickly becomes a race against modern-day fundamentalist terror. As evidence of a cover-up mounts-a cover-up spanning the entire history of the Mormon church-Gwen finds herself in the crosshairs of a secret society bent on fulfilling prophecy and revenging old wrongs. Can a forensic artist reconstruct two centuries of suppressed history...?efore it repeats itself? In A Cry from the Dust, Carrie Stuart Parks utilizes her own background as a celebrated, FBI-trained forensic artist to blend fact and fiction into a stunning mystery. "Parks' fast-paced and suspenseful debut novel is an entertaining addition to the inspirational genre. Her writing is polished, and the research behind the novel brings credibility to the story...?n excellent book that is sure to put Carrie Stuart Parks on readers' radar." -RT Book Reviews, 4 stars "Besides having a resourceful and likeable heroine, the book also features that rarest of characters: a villain you don't see coming, but whom you hate with relish...?A Cry from the Dust will keep you hoping, praying and guessing till the end." -BookPage "Renowned forensic artist Parks's action-packed and compelling tale of suspense is haunting in its intensity. Well researched and written in an almost journalistic style, this emotionally charged story is recommended for fans of Ted Dekker, Mary Higgins Clark, and historical suspense." -Library Journal "Parks's real-life career as a forensic artist lends remarkable authenticity to her enthralling novel, A Cry from the Dust. Her work is a fresh new voice in suspense, and I became an instant fan. Highly recommended!" -Colleen Coble, USA TODAY bestselling author of the Hope Beach Series and The View from Rainshadow Bay

x-large
Author(s): Carrie Stuart Parks
Series: Gwen Marcey Series No: 1
Original Publish Date: Aug 19, 2014

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Carrie Stuart Parks
Narrator(s): Teri Clark Linden
Series:
Product Number BN11559
Released: Aug 04, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781480565210

Sign up for our email newsletter