The Last of the Angels

A Modern Iraqi Novel
x-large
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
Original Publish Date: Jul 22, 2008
Product Number: EB00578348
Released: Sep 29, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781416570301
Publisher: Free Press
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From a legendary writer both beloved and banished by Iraq-a fine work of Arabic literature in the vein of Naguib Mahfouz and Elias Khoury, and a magical and moving comic novel about the birth of modern Iraq. Kirkuk, Iraq, the 1950s. The day Hameed Nylon loses his job, and gains an unfortunate nickname, is the day that his life begins: dismissed as a chauffeur when rumors surface that he propositioned his British boss's posh-tart wife, Hameed finds his true calling as a revolutionary in an Iraq that is destined for a sea change. Also bent on bucking the system is Hameed's brother-in-law, the money-scheming butcher Khidir Musa, who runs off suddenly to Russia to find two brothers who have been missing since World War I. And the key to their fate is held by a seven-year-old boy, Burhan Abdallah, who stumbles upon an old chest in his attic that allows him to speak with three white-robed old men, beings who inform him that they are, in fact, angels.

Sign up for our email newsletter