The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories

Author(s): Susanna Clarke
Genre: Short Stories
Original Publish Date: Oct 17, 2006
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.03 hours)
Product Number: Z100124595
Released: Jun 01, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427200792
Please log in to view pricing


Following the enormous success of 2004 bestseller and critics' favorite Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Susanna Clarke delivers a delicious collection of ten stories set in the same fairy-crossed world of 19th-century England. With Clarke's characteristic historical detail and diction, these dark, enchanting tales unfold in a slightly distorted version of our own world, where people are bedeviled by mischievous interventions from the fairies. With appearances from beloved characters from her novel, including Jonathan Strange and Childermass, and an entirely new spin on certain historical figures, including Mary, Queen of Scots, this is a must-have for fans of Susanna Clarke and an enticing introduction to her work for new listeners.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Susanna Clarke
Product Number EB00636093
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
ISBN: #9781596917453

Professional reviews

"This should have been a terrific production. Clarke's first novel, JONATHAN STRANGE AND MR. NORRELL, was wonderfully written and deservedly popular. Narrator Simon Prebble, who did such a great job narrating that book, is an AUDIOFILE Golden Voice, as is Davina Porter. So why is this collection of short stories of limited appeal? One reason is that even though the stories are magical, highly literate, and complex, they are also often hard to follow, despite the best narration. Another reason is that while the many admirers of JONATHAN STRANGE will recognize some characters, and other readers will appreciate the folk and fairy tale traditions Clarke draws upon, many will find those references obscure. That said, there <> an audience that will like this production very much. S.K. (c) AudioFile 2007, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter