The Easter Parade

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.72 hours)
Product Number: Z100124849
Released: Jun 01, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427209399
Narrator/s: Kristoffer Tabori
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing


In The Easter Parade, first published in 1976, we meet sisters Sarah and Emily Grimes when they are still the children of divorced parents. We observe the sisters over four decades, watching them grow into two very different women. Sarah is stable and stalwart, settling into an unhappy marriage. Emily is precocious and independent, struggling with one unsatisfactory love affair after another. Richard Yates's classic novel is about how both women struggle to overcome their tarnished family's past, and how both finally reach for some semblance of renewal.

Author(s): Richard Yates
Original Publish Date: Nov 15, 2009


Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Easter Parade
Product Number: BX00066093
Product Number:DD15308
Product Number:Z100124849

All formats/editions

Author(s): Richard Yates
Narrator(s): Kristoffer Tabori
Product Number DD15308
Released: Oct 07, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
ISBN: #9781427259929
Author(s): Richard Yates
Product Number EB00431669
Released: Jul 29, 2014
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: Picador
ISBN: #9781466853669

Professional reviews

"THE EASTER PARADE is the story of a woman's life. Actually it's about two women's lives since we also watch her sister grow from happy childhood to tragic adulthood through the filter of the main character. Emily Grimes is as different from her sister, Sarah, as two people could be, yet each jealously covets the other's life. At least they do until they begin to learn each other's secrets, which include alcoholism, beatings, and insanity. The choice of Kristoffer Tabori as Emily, who narrates the novel, seems odd at first. But his gruff voice and sometimes-rushed dialogue actually sound perfect. His female characters sound realistic enough, and his skill at drawing in the listener is nothing short of amazing. The story has no major epiphanies, no sudden realizations. The lives of the main characters just go on, moments of sadness mingled with joy, until the end. M.S. (c) AudioFile 2010, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter