Listen to This

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (14.52 hours)
Product Number: Z100124915
Released: Jun 01, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427211071
Narrator/s: Alex Ross
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing


One of The Telegraph's Best Music Books 2011 Alex Ross's award-winning international bestseller, The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century, has become a contemporary classic, establishing Ross as one of our most popular and acclaimed cultural historians. Listen to This, which takes its title from a beloved 2004 essay in which Ross describes his late-blooming discovery of pop music, showcases the best of his writing from more than a decade at The New Yorker. These pieces, dedicated to classical and popular artists alike, are at once erudite and lively. In a previously unpublished essay, Ross brilliantly retells hundreds of years of music history-from Renaissance dances to Led Zeppelin-through a few iconic bass lines of celebration and lament. He vibrantly sketches canonical composers such as Schubert, Verdi, and Brahms; gives us in-depth interviews with modern pop masters such as BjOrk and Radiohead; and introduces us to music students at a Newark high school and indie-rock hipsters in Beijing. Whether his subject is Mozart or Bob Dylan, Ross shows how music expresses the full complexity of the human condition. Witty, passionate, and brimming with insight, Listen to This teaches us how to listen more closely.

Author(s): Alex Ross
Original Publish Date: Sep 28, 2010

All formats/editions

Author(s): Alex Ross
Product Number EB00102907
Released: Oct 28, 2013
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781429977616

Professional reviews

"This collection of essays by Alex Ross, classical music critic for THE NEW YORKER, covers a wide range of subjects. Not limiting himself to classical music--which he would prefer to call "the music"--Ross discusses Schubert, Bj¿rk, Verdi, Marian Anderson, music education, Bob Dylan, and more. Narrating his own book, Ross is sincere and fluent, giving a reading that sounds honest and direct. The production has extras that the print book doesn't: more than 30 musical selections, which make it much easier to understand some of Ross's thoughts. For those with eclectic interests in music, this wonderful audiobook by one of today's most perceptive critics is a must-listen. K.M. (c) AudioFile 2010, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter