Black Ice

Author(s): Andrew Lane
Series: Sherlock Holmes: The Legend Begins Series No: 3
Original Publish Date: Feb 19, 2013
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.90 hours)
Product Number: Z100125179
Released: Jun 01, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427229625
Narrator/s: James Langton
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing


When Sherlock and Amyus Crowe, his American tutor, visit Sherlock's brother Mycroft in London, what they find shocks both of them to the core: a locked room, a dead body, and Mycroft holding a knife. The police are convinced Mycroft is a vicious murderer, but Sherlock is just as convinced he is innocent. Threatened with the gallows, Mycroft needs Sherlock to save him. The search for the truth necessitates an incredible journey, from a railway station for the dead in London all the way to the frozen city of Moscow-where Sherlock is entangled in a world of secrets and danger. In Andrew Lane's Black Ice, the unstoppable teenage sleuth undertakes his third fantastic adventure, as one deadly puzzle leads only to another. Sherlock Holmes: Think you know him? Think again.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Andrew Lane
Product Number EB00204366
Released: Feb 07, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780374308285

Professional reviews

"In 1868, a teenaged Sherlock Holmes is learning the ropes of detecting and deducing when his brother, Mycroft, is accused of murder. James Langton's expert narration brings out both the fun of seeing Holmes make mistakes and the tension of observing the boy and his mentor sift through clues to reveal the sinister plot to destroy Mycroft. Langton's consistent characterizations and ease with accents make it easy for listeners to stay connected to the story of the famous detective's tutelage. Manipulating the drama and pacing of his reading, Langton gives us the creeps when young Sherlock is lost in dark tunnels and keeps us glued to our earbuds when the boy is running for his life. Excellent listening for all ages. C.B.L. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2013, Portland, Maine"