Caraval

CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: DD24699
Released: Aug 30, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427279743
Narrator/s: Soler Rebecca
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Instant New York Times bestseller #1 IndieNext Pick Entertainment Weekly Must List (Grade: A-) Whatever you've heard about Caraval, it doesn't compare to the reality. It's more than just a game or a performance. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...? Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over. But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner. Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever. Welcome, welcome to Caraval...?eware of getting swept too far away. "The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-."-Entertainment Weekly "Impressive, original, wondrous."-USA Today "Spellbinding."-US Weekly "Magnificent."-Publishers Weekly, starred review "I lost myself in this world."-Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes "Beautifully written."-RenEe Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn "Shimmers with magic."-Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse "Darkly enchanting."-Kiersten White, author of And I Darken "Decadent."-Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen "Like stepping into a living dream."-Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon "Destined to capture imaginations."-Kirkus Reviews "Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games."-School Library Journal

x-large
Author(s): Stephanie Garber
Series: Caraval Series No: 1
Awards:New York Times Bestseller

Professional reviews

"Rebecca Soler is an ideal listener's companion through a heady world. Scarlett's lifelong wish is to travel with her sister, Tella, to Caraval, a spectacular annual performance that draws its audience into the show. But when the sisters manage to escape their cruel father and attend, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind, Legend, who makes her the feature of this year's show. Soler imbues each descriptive passage with exhilaration and wonder, providing a vivid sensory experience in which listeners will easily lose themselves. Though her accents occasionally slip, her inflections are pitch-perfect, capturing Scarlett's yearning and growing worldliness, the jaunty tones of her erstwhile companion, and Legend's ominous, mesmerizing whisper, which dominates the story as he dominates his world. B.E.K. © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter