Tears We Cannot Stop

A Sermon to White America
CD - unabridged
Audio (5 discs)
Product Number: DD29841
Released: Apr 04, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427287243
Narrator/s: Michael Eric Dyson
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post - Bustle - Men's Journal - The Chicago Reader - StarTribune - Blavity - The Guardian - NBC New York's Bill's Books "One of the most frank and searing discussions on race...? deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait."-The New York Times Book Review Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as "Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish." Stephen King says: "Here's a sermon that's as fierce as it is lucid...If you're black, you'll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you're white, Dyson tells you what you need to know-what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen." Short, emotional, literary, powerful-Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read. As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice soars above the rest with conviction and compassion. In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop-a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted. "The time is at hand for reckoning with the past, recognizing the truth of the present, and moving together to redeem the nation for our future. If we don't act now, if you don't address race immediately, there very well may be no future."

x-large
Author(s): Michael Eric Dyson
Awards:New York Times Bestseller

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Tears We Cannot Stop
Product Number: BX00066033
Product Number:DD29841
Product Number:Z100126062

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Michael Eric Dyson
Narrator(s): Michael Eric Dyson
Product Number Z100126062
Released: Jun 01, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
ISBN: #9781427287250
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Michael Eric Dyson
Product Number EB00683693
Released: Jan 17, 2017
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: #9781250136008

Professional reviews

"Michael Eric Dyson's elegant discussion of the role of race and privilege in white culture proves to be simultaneously provocative and sincere. Because he has framed his book as a sermon, audio is a natural medium for the work. But Dyson's delivery wobbles between sounding emotionally connected and apathetic. Given the framework of a sermon, he doesn't always live up to the energy and emphasis that one typically anticipates from a message bound in emotion, inspiration, and gospel. Still, time and again, his ability to draw out the incongruities of contemporary white American culture and its assault on non-white lives, culture, and identities will leave listeners reconsidering their complicity in the challenges currently faced by African-Americans and others. L.E. © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter