The Subway Girls

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.02 hours)
Product Number: Z100128778
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781427298218
Narrator/s: Barrie Kreinik
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From Susie Orman Schnall, author of The Balance Project, comes a dual-timeline audiobook featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend-the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose-does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever. Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she's secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia's urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job-and her future. The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition. Praise for The Subway Girls: "Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann."-Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo "A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives."-Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

x-large
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Original Publish Date: Jul 10, 2018

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Product Number EB00713708
Released: Jul 10, 2018
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781250169778

Sign up for our email newsletter