Country Hardball

Product Number: EB00695886
Released: Feb 17, 2017
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781440571091
Publisher: Gallery Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

After more than a decade spent in and out of juvenile detention, halfway houses, and jail, Roy Alison returns to his rural hometown determined to do better, to be better. But what he finds is a working-class community devastated by the economic downturn-a town without anything to hold onto but the past. Staying with his grandmother, Roy discovers a family history of good intentions and bad choices, of making do without much chance of doing better. Around him, families lose their sons to war, hunting accidents, drugs. And Roy, along with the town, falls into old patterns established generations ago. A novel-in-stories in the tradition of Bonnie Jo Campbell, Donald Ray Pollock, Denis Johnson, and Alan Heathcock, Country Hardball is a powerfully observed and devastatingly understated portrait of the American working class. "Steve Weddle's Country Hardball is a perfect combination of the brokenhearted and the just flat broke...?ere's hoping Weddle never stops writing..."-Benjamin Whitmer, author of Pike

x-large
Author(s): Steve Weddle
Original Publish Date: Oct 04, 2013

Sign up for our email newsletter