Nice to Come Home To

Product Number: EB00384965
Released: Jun 05, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781440633805
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A funny, entertaining novel of love and family for our times: a single woman who fears she's lost her chance at a family of her own, begins to accumulate an ad hoc one around her. In the tradition of Elinor Lipman or Marisa de los Santos (Love Walked In), Flowers delivers a smart, witty, appealing story of love, family, and community that breaks the mold of the conventional love story-and will have readers cheering. Everyone around Prudence Whistler, thirty-six, seems to be settling down. Her once single girlfriends have married and had babies. Her gay best friend is discussing marriage with his partner. Even her irresponsible younger sister, Patsy, is the single mother of a two-year-old. But when Pru panics at losing her mediocre boyfriend of two years-and begins to see the door to her traditional family life closing-she accidentally finds something even better: a new definition of family and happiness. First, it's the crazy cat who moves into her apartment. Then come Pru's headstrong sister and two-year-old niece. Then the niece's dog, the sister's ex-boyfriend, and, ultimately, Patsy and Pru's widowed mother. With the strength of her modern new household, Pru musters the confidence to open the dress shop she's always wanted in town-and discovers an extended family of sorts in the community of shop owners and devoted customers. It's only then that she ends up with the man of her dreams. Endearing, romantic, and satisfying, Nice to Come Home To is a charming, crowd-pleasing debut.

x-large
Author(s): Rebecca Flowers
Original Publish Date: Apr 10, 2008

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Rebecca Flowers
Narrator(s): Carrington MacDuffie
Product Number Z10009241
Released: Sep 01, 2008
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781593163938

Sign up for our email newsletter