One Half from the East

x-large
Author(s): Nadia Hashimi
CD - unabridged
Audio (5 discs)
Product Number: DD28681
Released: Sep 06, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781441709301
Narrator/s: Ariana Delawari
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posha€"a preteen girl dressed as a boy.Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family lucka€"dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won't last forever, thougha€"unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Nadia Hashimi
Narrator(s): Ariana Delawari
Product Number Z100116084
Released: Sep 06, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062570215
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Nadia Hashimi
Product Number EB00630332
Released: Sep 06, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: #9780062421920

Professional reviews

"Narrator Ariana Delawari's guileless tone embodies young, vulnerable Obayda, whose comfortable life in Kabul is turned upside down when her father loses a leg in a street bombing, forcing the family to move to the small village where his family can help with his recovery. Reading without an accent in a childlike pitch, yet giving authentic voice to Afghani names and phrases, Delawari makes Obayda's story accessible to any young listener. When Obayda is forced to become a "bacha posh"--a girl dressed as a boy--in order to bring good luck to the family, she discovers the advantages given to boys and the dangers that life may hold for girls. Strong writing is paired with an appropriately youthful narration, offering cultural awareness and hope for the future. S.G. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter