An Evil Mind

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (11.67 hours)
Product Number: Z100135837
Released: Feb 12, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781442390102
Narrator/s: George Newbern
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A prolific and ingenious serial killer is unmasked by a Los Angeles detective with a dark past of his own in this "roller coaster ride that will leave you breathless" by Top 10 Sunday Times (UK) bestselling author Chris Carter. A freak accident in rural Wyoming leads the sheriff's department to arrest a man for a possible double homicide, but further investigations suggest a much more horrifying discovery: a serial killer who has been kidnapping, torturing, and mutilating victims all over the United States for at least twenty-five years. The suspect claims he is a pawn in a huge labyrinth of lies and deception-but can he be believed? The case is immediately handed over to the FBI, but this time they're forced to ask for help from ex-criminal behavior psychologist and lead detective with the Ultra Violent Crime Unit of the LAPD, Robert Hunter. As he begins interviewing the apprehended suspect, terrifying secrets are revealed, including the real identity of a killer so elusive that no one, not even the FBI, had any idea he existed.until now. This dramatic and suspense-laden thriller, perfect for fans of Thomas Harris's classic The Silence of the Lambs, has "twists and turns and cliff-hangers abound" (Booklist) and will keep you guessing until the very last page.

x-large
Author(s): Chris Carter
Series: Robert Hunter Series No: 6
Original Publish Date: Dec 01, 2015

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Chris Carter
Series:
Product Number EB00597162
Released: Dec 01, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781476765709

Professional reviews

"George Newbern narrates the sixth Robert Hunter crime novel. Carter's dialogue tags are vital in this production as Newbern makes little distinction between characters. However, there are still spots where listeners will likely lose track of the speaker and find themselves confused. While Newbern's calm, even delivery works well to highlight the emotional control of the psychotic serial killer, the production has additional problems. Hunter works with a female FBI agent in this series installment. Disappointingly, the author characterizes her as an emotional bumbling idiot who is regularly shown up by L.A. police detective Hunter. Newbern exaggerates this trait in her especially frenzied reactions to the antagonist. Fans of mysteries involving serial killers may enjoy this, but most crime fiction listeners can take a pass. J.F. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter