Quicksand

x-large
Author(s): Steve Toltz
Original Publish Date: Sep 15, 2015
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (12.88 hours)
Product Number: Z100135911
Released: Feb 12, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781442394193
Narrator/s: Joel Davey
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends is "a delightful literary novel…extraordinarily imaginative" (Psychology Today) from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz—for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace. Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship. "Steve Toltz channels a poet's delight in crafting the perfect phrase on every highly quotable page" (Publishers Weekly). With the same originality, brilliance, and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world, Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about love, faith, friendship, and the artist's obligation to his muse. Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity that "confounds and astonishes in equal measure, often on the same page…A tour de force" (Australian Book Review).

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Steve Toltz
Product Number EB00588568
Released: Sep 15, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: #9781476797847

Sign up for our email newsletter