And After the Fire

Product Number: EB00625880
Released: May 10, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
ISBN: #9781443448642
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of The Imposter Bride and Sarah's Key, a masterful new novel from Lauren Belfer, the New York Times-bestselling author of City of Light and A Fierce Radiance Susanna has the perfect New York City life: a great job, a loving husband and a beautiful apartment. But when a random act of violence tears it apart, she's left to pick up the pieces alone. Just as she begins to feel whole again, her beloved Uncle Henry commits suicide, leaving behind a cryptic note that alludes to his haunting WWII experience as an Allied soldier in Germany...?nd something he took from the devastated country before returning home. The daughter of the king's Jewish banker, Sara is among the elite of Enlightenment-era Berlin. Beautiful, intelligent and a gifted pianist, she hones her musical talents under Wilhelm Friedemann Bach, son of Johann Sebastian Bach. They share a special bond, but while her life is just beginning, his is coming to an end. On his deathbed, Wilhelm bequeaths Sara the score of one of his father's cantatas. Sara is stunned to see its violently anti-Semitic lyrics. Why did her beloved want her to have this horrifying document? Weaving together the stories of Susanna and Sara, Lauren Belfer creates a majestic narrative that spans lifetimes and continents, encompassing both the best and the worst of the human spirit. The cantata's troubled, riveting journey reveals the two women have more in common than the score, and what Susanna learns may be the thing that can, finally, allow her to heal and move on.

x-large
Author(s): Lauren Belfer
Original Publish Date: May 10, 2016

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lauren Belfer
Narrator(s): Xe Sands, Simon Vance
Product Number DD25295
Released: May 03, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504718585
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Lauren Belfer
Narrator(s): Xe Sands, Simon Vance
Product Number Z100115157
Released: May 03, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781504718523
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Lauren Belfer
Product Number EB00621403
Released: May 03, 2016
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Harper
ISBN: #9780062428547

Sign up for our email newsletter