Frankland

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.22 hours)
Product Number: Z01017
Released: Mar 28, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781449893842
Narrator/s: Nick Landrum
Please log in to view pricing

Description

With droll humor and biting wit, critically acclaimed author James Whorton, Jr. pens enjoyable novels in the tradition of John Kennedy Toole and Walker Percy. In Frankland, a socially challenged young man named John H. Tolley aspires to be a prestigious historian despite his lack of a college degree. To that end, he embarks on a journey to east Tennessee to track down 17th President Andrew Johnson's secret papers, which may or may not actually exist. When he arrives, he meets a quirky group of people who inadvertently serve to obstruct him from his more scholarly pursuits.

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription - RB titles
RBdigital Audio Adult Subscription
RBdigital for Higher Education - RB audio only
RBdigital Unlimited Canada Audio Subscription - RB titles
RBdigital Audio Higher Education Bundle - RB titles

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): James Whorton
Narrator(s): Nick Landrum
Product Number CV027
Released: Oct 18, 2005
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781419349973
eBook
x-large
Author(s): James Whorton
Product Number EB00560816
Released: Sep 11, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Free Press
ISBN: #9781416590477

Professional reviews

"The dry humor in FRANKLAND is easy to miss, and narrator Nick Landrum doesn't help with his overly enthusiastic performance, though he improves halfway through the book. While his characters sounds authentic, his problem is in the expository sections. Overall, he is good as John Tolley, a historian who sets out to write the definitive history of the lackluster President Andrew Johnson. His search for a hidden manuscript takes him to eastern Tennessee, an area that Johnson once suggested calling "Frankland," after Benjamin Franklin (never realizing he was misspelling the name of the famous forefather). The humor comes from the local townsfolk and various miscreants, whom Landrum brings to life nicely. M.S. (c) AudioFile 2006, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter