Folly

Product Number: EB00127907
Released: Nov 27, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781453202906
Publisher: Open Road Media
Please log in to view pricing

Description

An upper-class Boston woman struggles through a life constrained by duty in this "dazzling" historical novel by a prize-winning author (Chicago Tribune).Born into an affluent New England family at the turn of the twentieth century, Lillian Eliot engages in the coming-of-age rituals traditional of her social status. But when she meets Walter Vail, a charming and spontaneous New Yorker, her world is opened to new possibilities. As the Great War erupts, Walter leaves for Europe and marries another woman, and Lillian marries Gilbert Finch, an innocuous bachelor within her social circle. As the years pass, Lillian acquiesces to a life devoid of passion until, one day, Walter returns. In the tradition of Edith Wharton and E.M. Forster, Susan Minot brings to vivid life the world of the early twentieth century and the story of a woman searching for love despite society's constraints.This ebook features a new illustrated biography of Susan Minot, including artwork by the author and rare documents and photos from her personal collection.

x-large
Author(s): Susan Minot
Original Publish Date: Oct 26, 2010

Sign up for our email newsletter