Peary to the Pole

Product Number: EB00053305
Released: Aug 13, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781453238455
Publisher: Open Road Media
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Explorer Robert E. Peary's quest for the North Pole—a true Arctic adventure from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of A Night to Remember. On March 1, 1909, only 413 miles of formidable ice separated Robert E. Peary from realizing his lifelong dream of becoming the first man to set foot on the North Pole. On that dark morning on Canada's Ellesmere Island, it was cold enough to freeze a bottle of brandy. The ice looked solid enough, but it sat atop seawater—and shifted violently according to the whims of the ocean below. Peary was used to the conditions—he'd barely survived them just three years before when he first tried, and failed, to reach the earth's northernmost point. But this time around, no amount of peril could dissuade Peary and his party from their expedition. With a cry of "Forward, march!" the journey of a lifetime began. Written with thrilling detail and heart-pounding suspense by the author of Day of Infamy and other bestselling histories, Peary to the Pole is the definitive account of one man's trek through some of the world's most treacherous terrain, in search of adventure, discovery, and immortality, a classic for readers of books like In the Kingdom of Ice or The Last Place on Earth.

x-large
Author(s): Walter Lord
Original Publish Date: Mar 06, 2012

Sign up for our email newsletter