Or, Buried Alive
Product Number: EB00053557
Released: Aug 13, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781453261460
Publisher: Open Road Media
Please log in to view pricing


At the dawn of World War II, Livia and her sister Constance commit themselves to separate sides of a historic struggle in the second volume of the Avignon Quintet. The second book of Durrell's inventive and inspiring Avignon Quintet, Livia follows the currents of longing and regret, and the shifting illusions of memory, that began in Monsieur. Two sisters, Livia and Constance, have already led remarkable lives as scholars, lovers of artists, and seekers of the forbidden wisdom of Gnostic sages. As Europe is shaken by the rise of fascism, the two sisters find themselves driven apart by shifting alliances. Livia is rich with Durrell's unmistakable, gorgeous prose and breathtaking insights into love and the idiosyncrasies of the human heart.

Author(s): Lawrence Durrell
Series: Avignon Quintet Series No: 2
Original Publish Date: Jun 12, 2012

Sign up for our email newsletter