We Were Strangers Once

Product Number: EB00693448
Released: Sep 12, 2017
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781455572045
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Carter's warm and beautiful prose brings us love, tragedy, mystery and hope in a moving celebration of America and the people who have come to it."-Amy Bloom, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky Us and Away For fans of The Nightingale and Brooklyn comes an exquisite and unforgettable novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider-a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists-escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, bestselling author Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home.

x-large
Author(s): Betsy Carter
Original Publish Date: Sep 12, 2017

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Betsy Carter
Narrator(s): Suzanne Toren
Product Number DD32205
Released: Sep 05, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781478991106
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Betsy Carter
Narrator(s): Suzanne Toren
Product Number Z100106792
Released: Sep 12, 2017
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
ISBN: #9781478991083

Sign up for our email newsletter