23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism

CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: BN1331
Released: Jun 12, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781455883387
Narrator/s: Joe Barrett
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market. Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet. Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst. Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer. If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan. Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market. Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at the University of Cambridge. His books include the bestselling Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism. His Kicking Away the Ladder received the 2003 Myrdal Prize, and, in 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Ha-Joon Chang
Product Number EB00637803
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
Publisher: Bloomsbury Press
ISBN: #9781608193585

Professional reviews

"Maybe capitalism isn't what we think it is. This completely accessible, often tongue-in-cheek, analysis of today's world economic order has all the right history and copious clear examples to back up every point. Joe Barrett does an outstanding job with this simple, direct work. There's little scope in the work for his tremendous vocal range, but he does manage to bring alive the author's Korean persona. This accomplishment adds texture, power, and authenticity in a way that only an exceptional talent can. The book will challenge the preconceived notions of all free marketeers, regardless of their political persuasion. M.C. 2012 Audies Finalist (c) AudioFile 2012, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter