Flame Tree Road

x-large
Author(s): Shona Patel
Original Publish Date: Jun 30, 2015
Product Number: EB00589261
Released: Jun 30, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781460330401
Publisher: Harlequin
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of Alka Joshi's The Henna Artist, Shona Patel brings you the story of a man with dreams of changing the world, who finds himself changed by love. From the acclaimed author of Teatime for the Firefly comes the story of a man with dreams of changing the world, who finds himself changed by love 1870s India. In a tiny village where society is ruled by a caste system and women are defined solely by marriage, young Biren Roy dreams of forging a new destiny. When his mother suffers the fate of widowhood—shunned by her loved ones and forced to live in solitary penance—Biren devotes his life to effecting change. Biren's passionate spirit blossoms as wildly as the blazing flame trees of his homeland. With a law degree, he goes to work for the government to pioneer academic equality for girls. But in a place governed by age-old conventions, progress comes at a price, and soon Biren becomes a stranger among his own countrymen. Just when his vision for the future begins to look hopeless, he meets Maya, the independent-minded daughter of a local educator, and his soul is reignited. It is in her love that Biren finally finds his home, and in her heart that he finds the hope for a new world.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Shona Patel
Narrator(s): Neil Shah
Product Number DD22730
Released: Jun 10, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
ISBN: #9781504650625
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Shona Patel
Narrator(s): Neil Shah
Product Number Z100015538
Released: Aug 20, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
ISBN: #9781488200021