Evans Above

Product Number: EB00010834
Released: Nov 15, 1997
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781466813236
Please log in to view pricing


Evans Above is the first novel in Rhys Bowen's popular Constable Evans Mystery Series. Evan Evans is a young police constable who has traded in the violence of city life for idyllic Llanfair, a Welsh village tucked far away from trouble. Nestled among the Snowdonia mountain range, Llanfair looks to Constable Evans like a town forgotten by time, but he quickly learns that even the bucolic countryside has its share of eccentric—and deadly—characters. Evans' new neighbors include two competitive ministers vying for the souls of their flock, one lascivious barmaid, and three other Evanses: Evan-the-Meat, Evans-the-Milk, and Evans-the-Post (whose favorite hobby is to read the mail before he delivers it). Before Evans has time to sort through the complicated relationships and rivalries of his new home, he's called to the scene of a crime as brutal and fearsome as any he encountered in the big city. Two hikers have been murdered on the trails of the local mountain, and Evans must hunt down a vicious killer—who may or may not be linked to the mysterious destruction of Mrs. Powell-Jones' prize-winning tomatoes.

Author(s): Rhys Bowen
Series: Constable Evans Mysteries Series No: 1
Genre: Mystery
Original Publish Date: Nov 15, 1997

All formats/editions

Author(s): Rhys Bowen
Narrator(s): Roger Clark
Genre: Mystery
Product Number BN14698
Released: Jan 25, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781978604131

Sign up for our email newsletter