The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

CD - unabridged
Audio (22 discs)
Product Number: C02621
Released: Aug 19, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781470364113
Narrator/s: Alyssa Bresnahan
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Emily Croy Barker's riveting debut is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she's any hope of survival.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic
Product Number: BX00023512
Product Number:Z06742
Product Number:C02621

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Emily Croy Barker
Narrator(s): Alyssa Bresnahan
Product Number Z06742
Released: Aug 01, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781470364137
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Emily Croy Barker
Narrator(s): Alyssa Bresnahan
Product Number MP1014
Released: Sep 03, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781470367275
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Emily Croy Barker
Product Number EB00398220
Released: Jun 05, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: #9781101585573

Professional reviews

"When Nora Fischer, a graduate student, takes a wrong turn while on a solo hike, sheNlike AliceNcrosses the boundary into an alternate world in which magic is commonplace and looks can be deceiving. Alyssa Bresnahan's enchanting performance keeps listeners spellbound as they follow Nora's struggle to find a safe haven and a useful occupation in a strange land. With spot-on expressiveness, Bresnahan captures the personalities of the characters, such as a taciturn housekeeper and a deliciously manipulative fairy queen. Thanks to Bresnahan's fine sense of tempo and emotion, listeners feel Nora's fear in battle as easily as her joy at learning new skills. An outstanding narrative performance combined with a compelling plot makes for a stellar audiobook experience. C.B.L. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2013, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter