Before I Met You

Product Number: EB00564277
Released: Sep 11, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781476702957
Publisher: Atria Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Lisa Jewell leaves the chick-lit tag firmly behind with Before I Met You, a poignant story about a young woman uncovering her grandmother's bohemian life in 1920s London-and finding her own place in the world in the process."-Good Housekeeping (UK) "Jewell's moving novel immerses readers in the lives of these unique characters through the universal themes of family and a search for belonging...a compelling and entertaining novel." -Publishers Weekly Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone. After her grandmother Arlette's death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs-all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age-in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in '90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She's ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks...? In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life. As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man-a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette's past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present? A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.

x-large
Author(s): Lisa Jewell
Original Publish Date: Oct 15, 2013

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lisa Jewell
Narrator(s): Jane Collingwood
Product Number CP0118
Released: Nov 15, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781470395131
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Lisa Jewell
Narrator(s): Jane Collingwood
Product Number Z07484
Released: Nov 01, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781470395070
x-large
Author(s): Lisa Jewell
Narrator(s): Helen Duff
Product Number Z100109114
Released: Aug 07, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781974904013

Sign up for our email newsletter