Not If I See You First

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.50 hours)
Product Number: Z100114462
Released: Jan 18, 2016
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781478937791
Narrator/s: Lauren Fortgang
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the tradition of Gayle Forman and John Green comes this extraordinary YA debut about a blind teen girl navigating life and love in high school. Parker Grant doesn't need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That's why she created the Rules: Don't treat her any differently just because she's blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances. Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart. When Scott suddenly reappears in her life after being gone for years, Parker knows there's only one way to react-shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough on her mind already, like trying out for the track team (that's right, her eyes don't work but her legs still do), doling out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn't cried since her dad's death three months ago. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened-both with Scott, and her dad-the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Maybe, just maybe, some Rules are meant to be broken. Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, debut author Eric Lindstrom's Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.

x-large
Author(s): Eric Lindstrom
Original Publish Date: Dec 01, 2015

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Not If I See You First
Product Number: BX00162720
Product Number:Z100114462
Product Number:DD24480

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Eric Lindstrom
Narrator(s): Lauren Fortgang
Product Number DD24480
Released: Jan 26, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781478913047
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Eric Lindstrom
Product Number EB00605226
Released: Dec 01, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Poppy
ISBN: #9780316259903

Professional reviews

"Lindstrom's debut introduces 16-year-old Parker, who has been blind since age 7, when she lost her mother and her sight in a car crash. Lauren Fortgang's narration is uneven as she delivers this story, written in Parker's voice as she copes with the recent loss of her father and the reappearance of an ex-best friend/boyfriend, Scott. She succeeds in projecting Parker's self-assurance, which often veers into meanness, cousin Shelia's boredom, cousin Petey's enthusiasm, and a love-sick friend's sobbing, overwrought longing. But missed punctuation cues make some sentences sound slightly off, and we don't hear the Australian accent Parker assigns to Scott in her text-to-sound phone software. Still, the story provides interesting insights into a strong character who is coping with a disability. N.E.M. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter