If You Find This

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.43 hours)
Product Number: Z100091597
Released: Apr 01, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781478959489
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Mixing mystery and adventure in the tradition of Louis Sachar, Avi, and E. L. Konigsburg, If You Find This is the story of unlikely friendships, unexpected bravery, and eleven-year-old Nicholas Funes' quest to prove his grandfather's treasure is real. Nicholas is a math and music genius with no friends and a huge problem: his father has lost his job and they'll have to sell their house, which holds the only memory Nicholas has of his younger brother. Just in time, Nicholas' senile grandfather arrives, filled with tales of priceless treasure he has hidden somewhere in town-but where? With the help of misfit classmates, two grandfathers, a ghost house, hidden messages, seances, and an uncanny mind for numbers, Nicholas stages a nursing home breakout, tangles with high schoolers in smugglers' tunnels, and gets swept up in a duel with the biggest bullies in the neighborhood. Will it be enough to find the treasure and save his house?

x-large
Author(s): Matthew Baker
Awards:2016-Best Juvenile-Nominee-Edgar Award
Original Publish Date: Mar 17, 2015

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Matthew Baker
Product Number DD15521
Released: Mar 17, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781478959502
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Matthew Baker
Product Number EB00467210
Released: Mar 17, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780316240147

Professional reviews

"Young listeners will be captivated from the start by narrator Bryan Kennedy's youthful voice and enthusiastic performance. Middle school is tough enough for math and music whiz Nicholas Funes, but when his father has to take an out-of-town job and his mother puts their house up for sale, the boy becomes desperate to maintain the status quo. With a little help from two quirky grandfathers, Nicholas and his friends hope to find a real-life buried treasure that will make all of their dreams come true. Kennedy's appealing level of drama helps offset some of the more challenging themes of this mystery/adventure story. Robert Petkoff delivers the few short sections told from the grandfathers' perspective, providing a nice balance to the production. C.B.L. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter