Nightwings

Product Number: EB00119606
Released: Nov 19, 2013
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781480418059
Publisher: Open Road Media
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Winner of the Hugo Award: This classic is an "evocative look at a crumbling Earth of the far future and a human race struggling to survive" (George R. R. Martin). "Roum is a city built on seven hills. They say it was a capital of man in one of the earlier cycles. I knew nothing of that, for my guild was Watching, not Remembering." For a thousand years, mankind has lived under the threat of invasion from an alien race. After the oceans rose and the continents were reshaped, people divided into guilds-Musicians, Scribes, Merchants, Clowns, and more. The Watchers wander the earth, scouring the skies for signs of enemies from the stars. But during one Watcher's journey to the ancient city of Roum with his companion, a Flier named Avluela, a moment of distraction allows the invaders to advance. When the Watcher finally sounds the alarm, it's too late; the star people are poised to conquer all. And so, with the world in turmoil, the Watcher sets out alone for the Hall of the Rememberers, keepers of the past, where humanity's last hope for survival might be hidden...?#160; Perfect for readers of Greg Bear and Ursula K. Le Guin, renowned, award-winning author Robert Silverberg's science fiction novel represents the best of the genre and beyond. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Robert Silverberg including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author's personal collection.

x-large
Author(s): Robert Silverberg
Genre: Sci Fi
Original Publish Date: May 14, 2013

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Robert Silverberg
Narrator(s): Stefan Rudnicki
Genre: Sci Fi
Product Number Z100079196
Released: May 13, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781482999853

Sign up for our email newsletter