First Hit of the Season

Author(s): Jane Dentinger
Series: Jocelyn O'Roarke Mysteries Series No: 2
Original Publish Date: Jul 30, 2013
Product Number: EB00298735
Released: Apr 21, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781480436886
Publisher: Open Road Media
Please log in to view pricing


In the second book of the Jocelyn O'Roarke series, New York's most hated theater critic has been poisoned. Now the question is, Who isn't a suspect? A lot of people have good reason to despise Jason Saylin. He has earned a reputation as New York's most scathing—and powerful—theater critic. After-parties at his penthouse apartment are the most exclusive in the city. His knack for pointing out the key flaws of any production crushes budding starlets and delights readers. And his gossip columns are required reading for anyone aspiring to become someone on Broadway. Still, Jason has one weakness: an illness that he is desperate to hide. His illness is revealed in grandiose fashion when Jason staggers into a room during a party and falls dead on the floor. A man as controversial as Jason Saylin has a long list of detractors, and it is up to the intrepid Jocelyn O'Roarke to find answers. With the help of her friends (and lover) in the NYPD, New York's greatest triple threat—actor-singer-detective—must get to the heart of a mystery that has taken center stage in the theater world. First Hit of the Season is the second book in the Jocelyn O'Roarke mystery series, which also includes Murder on Cue and Death Mask.