The Many Reflections of Miss Jane Deming

Product Number: EB00672750
Released: Feb 28, 2017
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781481464987
Please log in to view pricing

Description

High-spirited young Jane is excited to be part of Mr. Mercer's plan to bring Civil War widows and orphans to Washington Territory-but life out west isn't at all what she expects in this novel that's perfect for fans of Avi and Little House on the Prairie. Washington Territory is just the place for men of broad mind and sturdy constitution-and girls too, Jane figures, or Mr. Mercer wouldn't have allowed her to come on his expedition to bring unmarried girls and Civil War widows out west. Jane's constitution is sturdy enough. She's been taking care of her baby brother ever since Papa was killed in the war and her young stepmother had to start working long days at the mill. The problem, she fears, is her mind. It might not be suitably broad because she had to leave school to take care of little Jer. Still, a new life awaits in Washington Territory, and Jane plans to make the best of it. Except Seattle doesn't turn out to be quite as advertised. In this rough-and-tumble frontier town, Jane is going to need every bit of that broad mind and sturdy constitution-not to mention a good sense of humor and a stubborn streak a mile wide.

x-large
Author(s): J. Anderson Coats
Original Publish Date: Feb 28, 2017

Sign up for our email newsletter