Lifeboat 12

Product Number: EB00724553
Released: Sep 04, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781481468855
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"This page-turning true-life adventure is filled with rich and riveting details and a timeless understanding of the things that matter most."-Dashka Slater, author of The 57 Bus "Brilliantly told in verse, readers will love Ken Sparks." -Patricia Reilly Giff, two-time Newbery Honor winner "Lyrical, terrifying, and even at times funny. A richly detailed account of a little-known event in World War II." -Kirkus Reviews "Middle grade Titanic fans, here's your next read." -BCCB "An edge-of-your seat survival tale." -School Library Journal (starred review) A Junior Library Guild Selection A 2019 Golden Kite Middle Grade Fiction Award Winner In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy's harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis bombing London every night, it's time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he's one of the lucky ones-one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand-nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum's glare. And after five days at sea, the ship's officers announce that they're out of danger. They're wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They've been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion. Based on true events and real people, Lifeboat 12 is about believing in one another, knowing that only by banding together will we have any chance to survive.

x-large
Author(s): Susan Hood
Original Publish Date: Sep 04, 2018

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Susan Hood
Narrator(s): Bruce Mann
Product Number Z100151561
Released: Jun 25, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781977368935

Sign up for our email newsletter