The Memory of Forgotten Things

Product Number: EB00717412
Released: May 15, 2018
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781481478670
Publisher: Aladdin
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility." -School Library Journal "A pleasure to readfull of heart and imagination." -Kirkus Reviews "Zhang's story is filled with real-world lessons on compassion and kindness with a sci-fi twist-a skillfully rendered framing device for exploring deeper issues of loss, longing, and acceptance." -Publishers Weekly "With unwavering hope and focus, and new friendships with unlikely peers, the novel is entertaining and sweet." -Booklist In the tradition of The Thing About Jellyfish and When You Reach Me, acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother. One of the happiest memories twelve-year-old Sophia Wallace has is of her tenth birthday. Her mother made her a cake that year-and not a cake from a boxed-mix, but from scratch. She remembers the way the frosting tasted, the way the pink sugar roses dissolved on her tongue. This memory, and a scant few others like it, is all Sophia has of her mother, so she keeps them close. She keeps them secret, too. Because as paltry as these memories are, she shouldn't have them at all. The truth is, Sophia Wallace's mother died when she was six years old. But that isn't how she remembers it. Not always. Sophia has never told anyone about her unusual memories-snapshots of a past that never happened. But everything changes when Sophia's seventh grade English class gets an assignment to research solar eclipses. She becomes convinced that the upcoming solar eclipse will grant her the opportunity to make her alternate life come true, to enter a world where her mother never died. With the help of two misfit boys, she must figure out a way to bring her mother back to her-before the opportunity is lost forever.

x-large
Author(s): Kat Zhang
Original Publish Date: May 15, 2018

Sign up for our email newsletter