Island of a Thousand Mirrors

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (7.10 hours)
Product Number: Z100085886
Released: Sep 02, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781481508117
Narrator/s: Priya Ayyar
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings' lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents' ambitions, teenage love, and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara's family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara's life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl's. Saraswathi is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid-a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. In the tradition of Michael Ondatje's Anil's Ghost and Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come.

x-large
Author(s): Nayomi Munaweera
Original Publish Date: Sep 02, 2014

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Nayomi Munaweera
Narrator(s): Priya Ayyar
Product Number DD14633
Released: Sep 02, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781481508155
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Nayomi Munaweera
Product Number EB00529235
Released: Sep 02, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781466842274

Sign up for our email newsletter